Low sided during LRRS round 1 yesterday…

Image

Trying to pass the guy for 1st going up 3, follow him into the corner and took the apex from him. I think I spooked him a bit as I am already on the inside, he is just about to hit the apex, so we both steered a way from each other a little to avoid collision. However, that means I am going uphill at a tighter than normal line and off the racing line doing about 50, plus I was leaning a bit more than usual trying to steer away from him and that pretty much did it; same amount of throttle and the back just washes out on me. It was actually very fun battling it out with that guy, is just that I got the short end of it.

All my gear did their job. The biggest injury was a blister on one of my fingers and a small bruise no the thumb. The new gloves I got with the KNOX scaphoid protector proven to be essential, which I have no doubt saved me a wrist injury. As I went down and put my hand out, the first thing I feel was the scaphoid slider sliding. I am very impress with that system and will definite look for this feature on any new gloves. My cheap suit faired very well and with my padded undershorts and back protector, I didn’t even feel anything on my back and hip.

Bike fairs ok. Slight bent on the right fork and R&G slider did a great job keeping the body mostly away. Bar end and brake lever on the right side is gone, and so is the foot peg, a scratched up exhaust. Will try to get it up and running in a few weeks for round 2…..but I really should spend some time with my new bike first.

Leave a comment